## COUNCILLORS AGAINST BEDROOM TAX AND BENEFIT CUTS

We are Councillors opposed to the injustice of the Bedroom Tax and other benefit cuts.

It is wrong and unworkable to target the poorest, sick and disabled people. It is unjustifiable that the poorest 21% are being hit with 39% of all the austerity cuts.

Rent and Council Tax arrears are mounting fast, and it is not fair, reasonable or viable to recover these arrears or evict tenants. Central Government should compensate Councils and landlords for the bad debts they have caused.

We oppose anyone losing their home or being forced to move due to the Bedroom Tax

## SIGNED, COUNCILLORS:

Gill Kennett, Hull City Jim Thomson, Castle Ward, Stirling Greg Marshall, Broxtowe Robert Woodbridge, Swanley Town Marc Jones, Cadeirydd / Chair, Caia Park Community, Wrecsam Phil Waker, LB Barking & Dagenham George Barratt, LB Barking & Dagenham Myra da Souza, LB Camden Michael Lavalette, Preston Rania Khan, LB Tower Hamlets Lynne Allen, Townfields, LB Hillingdon Oliur Rahman, LB Tower Hamlets Graham Elliott, Waveney District Neil Laurenson, Worcester City Jamie Whitham, Park Ward, Reading Duncan Kerr, Oswestry Town Keith Kondakor, Nuneaton & Bedworth Borough, Warwickshire County Martin Love, Bradford Bryn Truscott, Reigate and Banstead Darren Johnson, London Assembly Member and Lewisham Borough Liz Wakefield, Brighton and Hove City , Alex Phillips, Brighton and Hove City

or other unjust benefit cuts, and call on landlords not to evict those pushed into arrears due to these measures. Councils that have pledged not to evict those forced into arrears and calling on local landlords to do the same, and those 'redesignating' bedrooms to avoid the Bedroom Tax, are taking practical action to support tenants and expose these unworkable measures.

We support joint action by Councillors along with local and national Anti Bedroom Tax and Benefit Justice campaigns, to link up across Britain, expose and actively oppose these benefit cuts, and demand their repeal.

> Ruth Buckley, Brighton & Hove Simeon Jackson, Norwich City Dilys Cluer, Scarborough Andy Cooper, Kirklees Borough Simon Pickering, Stroud District Molly Scott-Cato, Stroud District John Coyne, Liverpool City Will Duckworth, Dudley Borough Chris Williams, Solihull Borough Jonathan Essex, Reigate and Banstead Borough and Surrey County Lesley Grahame, Thorpe Hamlet, Norwich Rob White, Reading

## **ADD YOUR NAME TO THIS LIST**

NAME	COUNCIL	CONTACT EMAIL/PHONE